Skip to content

This is an excuse to watch more soccer, brew more beer, and cook more food.

August 2, 2011

Over the past few years I’ve spent way too much time in front of the TV watching soccer and in the kitchen or on the grill cooking something up.  And then when my girlfriend, Keri, gave me a homebrew kit for my birthday last year, a third obsession for crafting beer began.  It’s about time that I come up with a solid excuse to continue doing what I’ve been doing, and for now, this blog is going to be just that.

My plan is to focus on interesting matchups around the world and create meals around them.  Most Saturday mornings I’ll be watching the English Premier League (rooting for Liverpool), but I’ll spend some time on international fixtures (rooting for the U.S.), individual players, and various leagues.  It should be fun to do a bit of research into the culture of the food and drink behind the game.

For the most part, writing about what I cook and giving my comments on a game will be pretty straight forward.  Brewing, however, should be an entirely different animal because of the length of time that I’ll be devoting to fermenting and conditioning each beer.  Additionally, brewing a 5 gallon batch of beer isn’t exactly the right amount for a meal (unless you’re Joey Barton), so I’ll have to be strategic.

I’m also going to come right out with a disclaimer and say that there won’t always be a clear link between a recipe and a match.  I want to catalog my good and bad efforts, and this is going to be a good way for me to look back at my notes so that I can refine and improve my skills.

So with that said, let’s get to it.

From → General

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

